Betty Patu elected Vice President of the Seattle School Board

Betty Patu

The Seattle Public Schools Board of Directors elected officers for 2013. Kay Smith-Blum was elected president, Betty Patu was elected vice president, and Sharon Peaslee was elected member at large.

Smith-Blum defeated Director Sherry Carr by a vote of 4–3, with Directors Patu, Peaslee, and Marty McLaren voting for Smith-Blum.

Directors Patu and Peaslee were elected unanimously.

Patu will serve on the executive committee and preside over board meetings whenever Smith-Blum is absent.

The officers are elected to one-year terms and serve as the executive committee of the board. They provide leadership for the board in the areas of inter-government relations, evaluating the superintendent, board training, and plan, agenda, and schedule development. (end)

Leave a Reply

Community Calendar

Weekly E-Newsletter

NWAW’s latest issue

Follow our tweets

Do you like us?

Photos on flickr