Local journalism students awarded the Northwest Journalists of Color scholarship awards


NJC 2012 scholarship winners with keynote speaker Hari Sreenivasan (center), (winners left to right) Ashley Walls, Kelly Manalo, and Mende Smith (Photo by Grace Blanchard)

Local journalists and community members gathered at the KOMO-TV headquarters on May 18 to celebrate the Northwest Journalists of Color (NJC) scholarship winners. The event was hosted by Seattle’s Asian American Journalists Association and featured keynote speaker Hari Sreenivasan, a PBS NewsHour correspondent and former NJC scholarship recipient. The 2012 scholarship winners included Kelly Manalo, Yi Xiao, and Mende Smith. Ashley Walls took home the $3,000 Patricia Fisher Endowed Scholarship awarded by the Seattle Association of Black Journalists. Other scholarship awards included a $1,500 scholarship to Thomas Nguyen and a $400 911 MediaArts scholarship to Sarah Radmer. (end)

Leave a Reply


Community Calendar

Subscribe to our e-news